Homemade Samoa Girl Scout Cookies

caramel for homemade samoa cookies

I stumbled upon homemade Girl Scout cookies recently and I knew I had to make them myself. I have always been a Thin Mints kinda girl, but homemade Samoas sounded too good. What’s not to love about shortbread cookie, chocolate, caramel and coconut?

These were not the easiest cookies to make. It takes some time to top each one with the melted caramel and coconut mixture, and to coat the bottoms and drizzle the tops with dark chocolate (which I clearly got a little messy with). They were quite delicious in the end and well worth the work.

Butter mixture for homemade Samoas

samoa cookie dough

cookie cutting samoas

coconut topping samoas

homemade samoas

I used this recipe as a reference and made some slight adjustments along the way. By the second batch of cookies I realized that one of the things that make Thin Mints better is that the Samoas are missing the best part of the cookie – the center. So, I ditched the doughnut shape and put together a tray of round shaped cookies to take to a friend’s birthday party.

Homemade Samoa cookies

Homemade Samoa cookies

Thin Mints may need to be my next baking project (a daunting one though – how can you make those perfect little morsels even better?)…Happy weekend!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment